Connect with us


Double G Media Announces Finalist For 2016 Double G Sports Awards; Voting Open



Double G Media, LLC announced Wednesday the finalists for the 2016 Double G Sports Awards. There are 21 award categories this year, 20 of which can be voted on by the public. The 2016 Double G Sports Staff Member of the Year award is voted on by the Executive Team at Double G Media.

Five teams or individual winners of the 2015 version of the awards are once again named finalists and looking to repeat as winners. The New York Mets are once again finalists for Men’s Team of the Year and Most Improved Team. Mets manager Terry Collins won the 2015 Coach of the Year award and is once again among the finalists. Rutgers Women’s Soccer will look to repeat as College Women’s Team of the Year. Double G Sports Chief Photographer, Catalina Fragoso, is a finalist and looking to repeat as Double G Sports Staff Member of the Year.

Nominees for the awards were received by readers and followers and the finalists were then decided by the staff at The annual Double G Sports Awards honor the performances of teams and individuals in the Greater NYC and Greater Philadelphia areas throughout the calendar year.

Open voting will take place from Wednesday, December 22 through Friday, December 30. To vote, please visit or go directly to the awards ballot.

2016 Double G Sports Awards Finalists

Men’s Team of the Year
– New York Mets
– Philadelphia Soul
– New York Red Bulls
Women’s Team of the Year
– New York Liberty
– New York Sharks
– Long Island Sound
– Sky Blue FC
Male Athlete of the Year
– Odell Beckham Jr (NY Giants)
– Yoenis Cespedes (NY Mets)
– Gary Sanchez (NY Yankees)
– Chris Weidman (UFC)
Female Athlete of the Year
– Laurie Hernandez (US Gymnastics)
– Tina Charles (NY Liberty)
– Katlyn Chookagian (UFC)
– Heather Hardy (Boxing)
Coach of the Year
– Terry Collins (NY Mets)
– Patrick Viera (NYC FC)
– Jesse Marsch (NY Red Bulls)
– John Hynes (NJ Devils)
Rookie of the Year
– Gary Sanchez (NY Yankees)
– Kristaps Porzingis (NY Knicks)
– Erica Skroski (Sky Blue FC)
– Kiah Stokes (NY Liberty)
College Men’s Team of the Year
– Villanova Basketball
– Fordham Football
– Connecticut Basketball
– Hofstra Basketball
College Women’s Team of the Year
– Connecticut Basketball
– Monmouth Soccer
– Rutgers Soccer
– Princeton Field Hockey
College Male Athlete of the Year
– Kris Jenkins (Villanova Basketball)
– Ryan Arcidiacono (Villanova Basketball)
– Chase Edmonds (Fordham Football)
– Joe Rattigan (Princeton Football)
College Female Athlete of the Year
– Breanna Stewart (UConn Basketball)
– Charlotte Veitner (UConn Field Hockey)
– Erin Smith (Rutgers Soccer)
– Madie Gibson (Monmouth Soccer)
College Freshman of the Year
– Nicole Whitley (Rutgers women’s soccer)
– Jalen Brunson (Villanova men’s basketball)
– Marisa Adelman (William Paterson women’s soccer)
– Madie Gibson (Monmouth women’s soccer)
College Coach of the Year
– Jay Wright (Villanova Men’s Basketball)
– Geno Auriemma (UConn Women’s Basketball)
– Ryan Anatol (Stony Brook Men’s Soccer)
– Matt Rhule (Temple Football)
High School Boys Team of the Year
– St. Anthony’s Basketball
– Ramapo Soccer
– St. Joseph’s Regional Football
– Newark Academy Tennis
High School Girls Team of the Year
– St. John Vianney Basketball
– Ridgewood Soccer
– Immaculate Heart Softball
– Summit Lacrosse
High School Male Athlete of the Year
– Jagan Mosely – St. Anthony’s
– Christian Correa – New Milford
– Cory Poole – East Orange
– Stephan Gaslow – Bound Brook
High School Female Athlete of the Year
– Larissa Spellman – Butler
– Sydney McLaughlin – Union Catholic & US Track & Field
– Sara Szynal – Summit
– Blair Watson – Nutley
High School Coach of the Year
– Bob Hurley – St. Anthony’s Boys Basketball
– Amy O’Keefe – Rumson Fair-Haven Girls Lacrosse
– Rob Goodwin – West Morris Boys Lacrosse
– Dawn Karpell – St. John Vianney Girls Basketball
Most Improved Team
– New York Mets
– New Jersey Devils
– Connecticut College Women’s Soccer
– Seton Hall Men’s Basketball
Inspirational Athlete of the Year
– Laurie Hernandez (US Gymnastics)
– Amanda Lucia (Wagner Swim & Dive)
– Gary Sanchez (NY Yankees)
– Gabriella Cuevas (Monmouth Soccer)
Sports Moment of the Year
– Kris Jenkins buzzer beater for Villanova wins NCAA Men’s Basketball National Championship
– NYC FC clinches MLS Playoff berth
– St. John Vianney Girls Basketball wins Tournament of Champions in 3 OT
– Bartolo Colon home run
Double G Sports Staff Member of the Year
– Daniel Yanofsky
– Sunil Sunder Raj
– Catalina Fragoso
– Kristine Haugsjaa

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Avatar

    Collette V. Smith

    January 4, 2017 at 7:41 pm

    Hello Double G Sports!! New York Sharks, Women’s Pro Football Team here!!!
    Everyone is asking me and my team if the results are in for Best Women’s Sports Team of the Year..
    Anxious 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


After the first weekend of games, do you like the product the XFL has put out?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Email Format


Photo of the Month

Photo of the Month

(Photo by Danny Suriel)

More in Feature