Share Button" /> Trio Of CUNY Women Honored By Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association - Double G Sports

Trio Of CUNY Women Honored By Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association

by Bernadette Pasley | Posted on Monday, April 14th, 2014

The Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association has announced its awards for the 2013-14 women’s college basketball season, and three CUNY hoops stars are among the honorees.

Iyana Abrams, a junior guard from Baruch College and Melanie Johnson, a senior forward from the College of Staten Island (CSI) were named to the 2013-14 All Met Division III Women’s First Team.  Megan Campbell, a senior forward from Brooklyn College received second team honors.

Abrams averaged 11.0 points and 3.9 assists per game and had 81 steals this season. She helped lead Baruch to their seventh straight CUNYAC Championship. Johnson averaged 16.6 points, 7.8 rebounds and a .815 free-throw percentage for CSI. Campbell was arguably Brooklyn’s best player, averaging 14.6 points, 7.5 rebounds and 1.7 blocks per game.

The All-Met teams will be honored on April 22nd at the 81st NIT/MBWA Haggerty Awards Dinner at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, New York.


Melissa  Tobie, Montclair State             6-1, jr, F            (Elizabeth, NJ)

Nicosia  Henry, Montclair State             5-11, sr, G/F     (Bolingbrook, IL)

Floriana  Borova, Wm Paterson           5-9, sr, G          (Cresskill, NJ)

Iyana  Abrams, Baruch                         5-6, jr, G           (New Rochelle, NY)

Kyra  Dayon, FDU Florham                  5-8, jr, F            (Trenton, NJ)

Melanie  Johnson, Staten Island           5-9, sr, F          (Staten Island, NY)



Megan  Dawe, NYU                               6-0, so, F          (Santa Clarita, CA)

Kaitlyn  Read, NYU                               5-8, fr, G           (University Park, TX)

DeAndra  Scott, Old Westbury             5-7, sr, F          (St Albans, NY)

Kelly  Fraser, Mount St Vincent            5-11, jr, C         (Staten Island, NY)

Bria  Smith, NJCU                                 5-8, fr, F           (Bayonne, NJ)

Megan  Campbell, Brooklyn                  6-1, sr, F          (Tobyhanna, PA)


Player of the Year:  Melissa Tobie, Montclair State

Coach of the Year: Marc  Mitchell, FDU Florham

Share Button

The following two tabs change content below.
Bernadette contributes to, covering softball and CUNY sports.
About the Author

Bernadette contributes to, covering softball and CUNY sports.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Pin It